Day 1: My First Green Smoothie

NutriBlastMy first green smoothie was a scary experience. I had no idea how it would turn out so I started using the small NutriBullet cups. Plus, if you know me, then you know that I’m not a fan of greens hence why I’m trying to sneak them into a smoothie!

I’m also very excited that this is the first day of making a lifestyle change to drinking green smoothies!

I  do have  to tell you about my secret healthy ingredient that I am going to add into EVERY smoothie. Can you guess what it is? Coconut Oil! It has amazing benefits that are going to make the results even better.

One thing to remember before you start making these smoothies is the process of adding the ingredients into your blending cup. You’ll want to add the ingredients in the order they’re listed in each recipe. Here it is in detail:

  1. Greens
  2. Fruit
  3. Boosts – any superfoods such as goji berries or cacao nibs. This can also include any protein powder.
  4. Raw Nuts/Seeds
  5. Coconut Oil
  6. Stevia or Xylitol
  7. Water or Unsweetened Almond Milk (I fill it to the top of the ingredients not the top of the cup)

Here is my first recipe of my Green Smoothie Challenge:

  • Kale
  • Half Apple
  • 1/2 c. Frozen Mixed Berries
  • 1 tbsp Xylitol to sweeten (can also use stevia)
  • 1/2 tbsp Coconut Oil (my secret ingredient)
  • Water

I was really surprised that it actually tasted good – whoa!! I was also amazed at the power of the NutriBullet and how well it blended everything. Read more about why I use and recommend the NutriBullet here.

I read that as you start getting used to green smoothies you won’t have to use as much sweetener. Since this is advanced plan approved and doesn’t use high-sugar content fruits such as bananas then using sweetener is a must for at least a little while. You can read more about the Advanced Plan here.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

